The Ivory Gate

Shatter the peace.
Summon the Furies.
The Underworld awaits…

Realising his quest for a homeland is not complete, Aeneas must forsake happiness and love to lead his people into the mist-shrouded land of Italia. The words of prophecy say this is where the children of Troy belong. Yet the fiery Princess Lavinia will not allow Aeneas to settle in her country and rallies her people to war. Facing an impossible choice, Aeneas must descend to the world of the dead to learn a dark truth. No longer able to escape his destiny, Aeneas will become what he has always feared.

The next instalment in a trilogy based on Virgil’s epic poetry, Ashes of Olympus: The Ivory Gate is a tale of war, sacrifice and triumph.

“An extraordinary read for fans of Caroline Lawrence, Michelle Paver and classic Ray Harryhausen movies.” – Mark Stay

Available in paperback, hardcover, and ebook from Amazon or your favourite online bookstore or online retailer.

$24.95

Book Details

Weight 322 g
Dimensions 216 × 140 mm
Extent

244 pages

Format

Paperback

Language

English

Genre

Fantasy, Young Adult

Release date

30 October 2019

Imprint

Odyssey Books

ISBN

9781922311009

About The Author

Julian Barr

Julian Barr

Julian Barr first fell in love with all things Greek and Roman in childhood, when he staged his own version of I, Claudius using sock puppets. After his PhD in Classics, he did a brief stint as a schoolteacher, hated being called ‘sir,’ and dived into storytelling. Although he remains open to the possibilities of sock puppet theatre, historical fantasy is his passion. He has published scholarly research on Roman medicine and the gastronomic habits of Centaurs, but prefers to think of himself as an itinerant bard. Ashes of Olympus: The Way Home is his debut novel.

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Ivory Gate”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.